“The Eyes of the Lord are in Every Place, Beholding the Evil and the Good” (Proverbs 15v3)

 050

An elderly friend of my family was on the telephone to me just recently, telling me that someone had tried to burgle her when she was out. Something or someone had interrupted his attempt and thankfully there was no evidence to show that he had ever been in the house. However, her window had been prised opened and police forensic evidence showed tiny fibres from gloves that the would-be thief had been wearing. My friend laughed when she recalled the very apt ‘thought for the day’ that she had been reading on that very morning… “Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth, where moth and dust doth corrupt, and where thieves break through and steal…” (Matthew 6v19)

“That thief would have had no interest in my little sentimental things,” she added, “but of course I’m glad that he never managed to get into the house and it does leave me feeling uneasy…”

A short time later I was driving to my peaceful rural home one night last week, when I noticed numerous oncoming cars flashing at me in the darkness. ‘Was there something wrong with my lights, was there an accident ahead…?’ My mind was filled with all sorts of possibilities as I drove on towards the edge of the village which I had to drive through to get home. Soon I reached a police blockade. An officer put his hand up and proceeded to tell me to find some other route home, as the village had been sealed off. “What’s going on?” I asked anxiously. “I’m sorry madam; we are not at liberty to say right now. There’s a very delicate situation here and no more cars are allowed through this village for the moment.”

I later learned that there had been some sort of ‘stand-off’ and a vague statement had been issued about someone ‘being potentially a danger to himself and others.’

We don’t have to travel very far in this world before we are confronted with all of the sins and spiritual ailments of mankind – our ancient legacy from Eden. There is nothing in this world that the Lord is not aware of. He knows of the unspoken plans of the thief and the murderer; He knows of those who ‘bear false witness’ and He knows of the self-serving schemes of rulers and politicians the world over. He knows when some poor soul takes a nervous break-down and He knows every single anxiety (large and small) of every individual the world over.

And He also knows when good and loving deeds are accomplished to His glory. These may never be known or recognised by anyone else on earth and in fact many of the Lord’s servants may be misunderstood and their good deeds misinterpreted – but that which is done to the glory of God will receive an eternal reward. “For nothing is secret, that shall not be made manifest; neither anything hid, that shall not be known and come abroad.” (Luke 8v17)

Have you ever been accused in the wrong? Are you ostracised from the company of others and have no idea why? His eyes are surely in every place, beholding the evil and the good. All across the world at this moment terrible crimes are being perpetrated, while acts of terror are being planned in the name of a false prophet. Yet, for those who know the Lord, we can rest assured that He is in control. “He only is my rock and my salvation: he is my defence; I shall not be moved.” (Psalm 62v6)

Whatever your lot today, it is no secret to Him. He knows well your troubles, your worries, your sorrows and perhaps your regrets. He died to lift those burdens that weigh you down with grief and He died for the sins that would seek to enslave you. If you have not already done so, His will is for you to repent and turn to Him today.  His eyes are indeed “in every place.” He understands “every place” in your heart too and He wants to heal that broken heart, filling it with His love. Oh that mankind would turn to the Lord, for our all-seeing, all-knowing God is coming (perhaps very soon) to judge the earth with righteousness and truth. (Psalm 96v13)

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment