Singing on the Journey Home

“Singing on the Journey Home – True Stories with Favourite Hymns & Photographs”

ISBN: 978-0-9557155-1-8 Published 2008 Retail Price: £7.50 (Sterling) or €8.50 (Euro)

“On the beautiful evening of Monday, 28th August 1978, a spiritual battle raged within me. I thank God that His power prevailed and that He assisted me to take that life-changing step from darkness into His marvellous light, through faith in the shed blood of His Son Jesus Christ. Now thirty years later, I feel led of Him to write thirty little chapters from my life; each one praising Him for His love and mercy to me. Linked to these stories are lovely old hymns which have touched my heart over the years, in addition to many colour photographs of Irish and international locations. My prayer is that those who love the Lord will be blessed and encouraged; while others will find my Saviour, whose shed blood on their behalf has inspired men and women to write verse and music to His glory throughout the ages.”

The above is based on early childhood memories of my parents ‘singing on our journeys home’ and was written to commemorate 30 years since the evening I trusted the Lord Jesus Christ as Saviour. For each year I have written a little story from my life’s experiences, while linked with these stories are appropriate favourite hymns and colour photographs from Ireland; a few reflecting international travel over my years. Wherever possible I have researched the background to the old hymns quoted – material in itself which makes interesting reading. Although a few of the hymns are obscure and little is known about their authors, I felt that I must include them because their words have touched me at certain stages on my life’s journey. The book includes early childhood memories and life before coming to know the Lord; events which led to my salvation; and then many little experiences which occurred during my life of faith. Some of these are more dramatic than others, but they all have one common theme… with God all things are possible!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

