My little Greek Donkey – A Thought for “Palm Sunday”……(John 12)

Paul said: “Ye observe days, and months, and times, and years. I am afraid of you, lest I have bestowed upon you labour in vain.” (Gal. 4v10&11) Therefore with this in mind, I do not observe these “days, months, times and years” in the sense that I feel obliged to pay homage to them. Yet these times which are noted on our international calendars may be used to proclaim all that the Lord has laid upon our hearts. With this in mind, I remember my little Greek donkey…

Some years ago I made friends with a little donkey on the Greek Island of Corfu. Day after day it stood tethered by the dusty roadside, looking parched in the intense heat of the sun. As I gave it some water to drink, my eyes fell on the cross upon its back… something peculiar to all donkeys I had ever seen.

He could have chosen a golden chariot drawn by well-groomed horses, for after all He was the King of Glory, but as always Jesus trod the road of humility.

It was a beautiful day when those who loved Him lined His path with branches of palm trees, as He came riding upon an ass’s colt. “Hosanna!” they cried, “Blessed is the King of Israel that cometh in the name of the Lord.” There were certain Greeks on that day who had come to worship at the feast. “Sir, we would see Jesus…” they said to Philip. (John 12v21)

Sometimes on a stormy Irish winter’s night while I try to sleep, my thoughts return to another time, another place… and my little donkey. Aptly named ‘beast of burden’, the donkey is universally subjected to ill-treatment. No one understands burdens more than Jesus does, for He took the burden of sin of the entire human race to Calvary – and made it His own.

Today, as the burdens of life would press upon us, we can (like the Greeks of old) see Jesus – by faith. “Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden”, He says, “and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me: for I am meek and lowly of heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” (Matt.11v28-30). Why not trust Him with your burden today, for no matter who you are or what you have done, He died to make your burdens His own!

Jesus said: Peace I leave with you, my peace give I unto you, not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.” (John 14v27)  © Elizabeth Burke 2006

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

