Today is My Birthday!

Today is my birthday; not my ‘earthly’ birthday, but the anniversary of the day on which I asked the Lord Jesus Christ to come into my life. I rejoice in this knowledge and yet this morning I felt convicted that I had initially forgotten that on this day thirty-two years ago, I made a decision which was to change the direction of my life forever. “Would I forget my ‘earthly’ birthday?” I asked myself, although I knew the answer to that question was “most probably not.” As coincidence would have it, this morning my daily reading was in Philippians 3. When I reached verse 19, the words “who mind earthly things” gave me food for thought. I am probably not the best judge on the issue of how my spiritual growth has been for the last thirty-two years and yet I know for sure, that my Lord and Saviour has been my constant companion throughout the ups and downs of life. I love Him with all my heart and my desire is to serve my risen Saviour for all the rest of my life, in the knowledge that whatever happens to me, “I must have the Saviour with me, for I dare not go alone, I must feel His presence near me, and His arm around me thrown.” These words comprise the first verse of Fanny Crosby’s hymn… “I must have the Saviour with Me” and for some reason I have been unable to get the tune out of my head all week!

Throughout the changing seasons of life; through all that I must face, I can lean on Him, my Lord, my Saviour, my Confidant, my Teacher and my Comforter. This morning I also read… “I press toward the mark of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus. Let us therefore, as many as be perfect, be thus minded: and if in any thing ye be otherwise minded, God shall reveal even this unto you.” (Verses 14&15) Therefore I ask Him to reveal to me those things in my life that are displeasing to Him – and I ask Him to assist me, by faith, to put matters right.

Unfortunately my mind on this morning had been pre-occupied with the cares of this life… concerns about my daughter going to college in a different country; concerns about a loved one’s health; other concerns… I was so burdened about so many things – and then He reminded me! “Did you not trust me to be your Guide all those years ago? Was I not with you through it all?” And so…“I must have the Saviour with me, in the onward march of life, thro’ the tempest and the sunshine, thro’ the battle and the strife…” No, I dare not walk alone through this wilderness of life, weighed down with a great backpack of troubles; I must always have His Presence to comfort and sustain.

Perhaps the Christian life can be best summed up in a verse which I read earlier in the week: “For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.” (Phil. 1v21) Yes, He has given me yet another gift on my “birthday” – the joy of knowing for certain that I can trust Him to lead me in the right paths, for He has only my best interests at heart. “Then my soul shall fear no ill, Let Him lead me where He will, I will go without a murmur, and His footsteps follow still.”

What sort of person would I be today, had I not trusted the Lord Jesus Christ as my Saviour thirty-two years ago? Really, I don’t want to think about that but I feel that, had I not, I would be a more materialistic person than I am today. I am surrounded by many who have great possessions in this life, but I thank God that He can give us a heart to count the material things of this world “as dung” that we may win Christ. (Phil. 3v7&8)

My sister gave me a gift when we moved to this home, many years ago now. It was a little wooden plaque inscribed with these words: “But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.” (Phil. 4v19) To those who trust Him, all our needs will be provided – physically but most of all… spiritually. Surely “our sufficiency is of God.” (2Cor. 3v5) So, whatever the rest of my life holds for me in terms of “tempest or sunshine,”… “I must have the Saviour with me, and His eye the way must guide, till I reach the vale of Jordan, till I cross the rolling tide.” Praise God for the depths of His mercy and love in sending the gift of His Son, my Lord Jesus Christ – and thank you Lord for saving my soul!

Link to this hymn: http://www.cyberhymnal.org/htm/s/a/v/saviorwm.htm

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Today is My Birthday!”

  1. LJ Says:

    Beautiful , reading this july 2012 and the Lord brought this song to me also last night ..mid night – i sang it at church this morning and it brought a blessing. X

  2. readywriterpublications Says:

    Thank LJ, This hymn means so much to me too – and even more as the years (with all their ups and downs) march on… “I must have the Saviour with me… for I dare not go alone.”
    Best Wishes,
    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

