“The Harvest Truly is Great” (Luke 10v2)

Tonight I watched a great harvester making its way down the lane to the fields behind our home. This annual activity never fails to remind me of the spiritual analogy of that “Great Harvest,” spoken of by Jesus in the gospels.

Are you ready for that Great Harvest? At present the ‘tares and the wheat’ grow together in our world, but some day there will be a separation. Jesus said: “Let both grow together until the harvest: and in the time of harvest I will say to the reapers, Gather ye together first the tares, and bind them in bundles to burn them: but gather the wheat into my barn.” (Matt. 13v30). The alternative to the ‘barn’ (or the safety of heaven) is unthinkable. John the Baptist said… “I indeed baptize you with water unto repentance: but he that cometh after me is mightier than I, whose shoes I am not worthy to bear:  he shall baptize you with the Holy Ghost, and with fire: Whose fan is in his hand, and he will throughly purge his floor, and gather his wheat into the garner; but he will burn up the chaff with unquenchable fire.” (Matt. 3v11&12).

The ‘day of the Lord’ is near in ‘the valley of decision.’ (Joel 3v14) This then is the sombre question for each soul upon the earth… ‘Will you be numbered with the wheat – or with the tares?’ Note Joshua’s exhortation in Joshua 24v15… “choose you this day whom ye will serve;” God forbid that we should hear these words… “Depart from me, ye cursed, into everlasting fire, prepared for the devil and his angels…” (Matt. 25v41). Indeed the lake of fire was prepared for the devil and his angels; it was never God’s will that members of the human race (who were made in His image and for whom the blood of the Lord Jesus Christ was shed) should go there. I remember once being convicted by that verse… “The harvest is past, the summer is ended, and we are not saved.” (Jer. 8v20). But praise God that I decided to follow Him, and am no longer numbered with the tares. Prior to my conversion, I remember also being troubled and confused by the words of someone who said that we had no control over our own destinies, and that God had pre-destined all souls into either eternal bliss in heaven – or eternal suffering in hell. For a short time I seriously thought that I may be one of those who were ‘predestined to go to hell.’ This filled me with an indescribable bleak helplessness, until the Lord opened my eyes.

God, because He is omniscient, naturally knows the path that each one of us will take – yes, even before the foundation of the world. Therefore… “For whom he did foreknow, he also did predestinate to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brethren. Moreover whom he did predestinate, them he also called: and whom he called, them he also justified: and whom he justified, them he also glorified.” (Rom. 8v29&30). Here we may see clearly that those whom He foreknew who would choose to follow Him, and endure unto the end (Matt.10v22), are predestined to be conformed to the image of His Son. Since His blood avails for all (1John 2v2; 1Tim. 2v6; 2Cor 5v14&15), it is His will that all should come to repentance in Him, and that none should perish (2Pet. 3v9). If people perish, it is because they have chosen the “broad road that leads to destruction” (Matt. 7v13) – not because they have been pre-destined to eternal destruction. Nowhere in God’s Word are we told that we have no control over our own destinies! Furthermore, how can His ambassadors be effective in their work and witness, when they have (at the back of their minds) a conception that the eternal destinies of all souls have been foreordained?

As I tossed, unable to sleep one night, I longed that the whole world of men and women and boys and girls, would see the goodness of the Lord who gave His only begotten Son – and not only see, but repent, and trust Him for salvation. “For the Son of man is not come to destroy men’s lives, but to save them…” (Luke 9v56). To the Christian He says: “Say not ye, There are yet four months, and then cometh harvest? Behold I say unto you, Lift up your eyes, and look on the fields; for they are white already to harvest. And he that reapeth receiveth wages, and gathereth fruit unto life eternal: that both he that soweth and he that reapeth may rejoice together. And herein is that saying true, One soweth, and another reapeth. I sent you to reap that whereon ye bestowed no labour: other men laboured, and ye are entered into their labours.” (John 4v35-38). He has work for you and me to do, while it is ‘day.’ Great harvesters work steadily for long hours, so that costly sheaves of golden grain may be safely gathered into the storehouse. Oh that our lives would be burned out in His service, and that we could say with the apostle Paul… “I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith: Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.” (2Tim 4v7&8)

I saw a field of harvest gold,

Before the sun was set,

Each precious ear, a story told,

But the work is waiting yet.

O come with me, my Christian friend,

And let us work where he doth send,

For shadows grow, as night draws on,

And souls may die before the Dawn.

© Elizabeth Burke 2006

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

