Tell Loved-One, Neighbour, Friend & Foe – Before it is too Late!

This week I learned of the death of a friendly lady whom I had once known. I could scarcely believe that I shall never see that dear face again in this life and now I wish that I had said more to her. This experience reminded me of “The Graves,” a poem of seven verses which I wrote in 2004 following the death of an elderly neighbour. Oh Lord, help all those who know you as Saviour to reach precious souls before it is too late. “Whosoever therefore shall confess me before men, him will I confess also before my Father which is in heaven. But whosoever shall deny me before men, him will I also deny before my Father which is in heaven.” (Matthew 10v32&33)

 

The Graves

 

One cloudy restless Sabbath Day,

I went in search of where he lay.

So pensively I picked my way,

Past ancient headstones and decay.

*******

Celtic crosses in the mist,

Coloured gravestones, raindrop-kissed,

Crying curlew overhead,

Wooden crosses, unknown dead.

*******

The old, the young, the rich, the poor,

A child, a babe…. a grief to endure;

A nobleman, a pauper, a puritan, a thief:

Death knows no boundary, and nor doth grief.

*******

Who were these within their day,

Whose bodies now lie clothed in clay?

Were they told, or did they see

That Jesus died all souls to free?

*******

And then I thought on the living-dead

For whom His precious blood was shed,

And how I wished that they could be

Joyful, saved, from sin set free.

*******

Oh, how I longed to talk with him,

Before the flickering light grew dim,

But hope had drowned in the Great Forever,

Where land and riches matter never.

*******

So, brother, sister we must go –

Tell loved-one, neighbour, friend and foe,

For how can we so silent be…

If we love the Author of Eternity?

© Elizabeth Burke.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

