Who stole my Father’s Gate?

I recently wrote a little article for a local newspaper after the disappearance of a gate which my father, the late Mr. Jack Hutchinson, had fitted to the entrance of the back lane of his farm. These gates bring back memories for me of peaceful country walks and of happy days of my closely knit family throughout the seasons. I am saddened that the gates are gone as I associate them with my father who died only a few months ago. One has been taken away by my brother, in case it is stolen too and the other… who knows where it is? The theft of the gate is only a minor one in a number of other more distressing recent events in my life. But the photograph of the gates and the poetry which they inspired me to write will live on… hopefully to touch hearts for a long time to come. Below is the poem that I wrote almost eight years ago for a baby niece’s christening, inserting a photograph of the gates…

Today, a precious baby girl,

I watch your tiny life unfurl,

Knowing not the future path of years,

You sit with smiles, and sometimes tears

At the gateway of life.

I trust you will blossom and grow,

As lovely days shall come and go –

Each joyous occasion a treasured milestone

On a path that belongs to you alone.

There may be a mountain to ascend

And often a spiralling bend,

And crossroads too – a difficult decision –

For not all roads are signed with vision.

And some may carry a heavy toll,

As the journey of life shall onward roll.

But I know a narrow little road

Where the cares of life you may unload.

Branching off from busy highways,

It leads so far from this world’s byways.

There you may rest in green pastures,

And be restored by still waters –

For its toll has once for all been paid

By one, Jesus, who died in your stead.

So, I will pray for you little niece

That you may choose this road of peace,

And take the hand of a Shepherd Friend,

Who will guide your life to journey’s end,

Until you meet that crystal river,

And dwell in the light of His presence

Forever.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

