A Most Interesting Evening in Cairde, Balbriggan!

A few days ago I set off for the “Christian Literature and Outreach Evening” in Cairde Balbriggan. Parking the car, I made my way over to the door of that old national school which my children attended years ago. After turning the key in the lock I pushed open the familiar creaking door, only to discover that the porch was in complete darkness. Now where was that box located – the one where I was supposed to key in the code before the alarm went off? Fumbling around, I was trying to find it, when suddenly the alarm did go off! I have never in my life heard anything like it and quickly exited the building before my eardrums burst. “I hope you realise Mum,” sighed my daughter, as she sat shivering in the cold car, “that the Police are going to arrive here any minute…”

Glancing up at windows I could see curtains moved aside, as many residents of that long street stared out to see what was going on. How embarrassing!

 “Oh no. Oh no!! What am I going to do?” I muttered frantically. The noise was horrendous and I felt that I just couldn’t face going into that building again. It’s no wonder that burglars dislike alarms!

Fortunately my daughter had a powerful little torch on a key ring and as I hurriedly ran over to the building again, I prayed that somehow my ears would be none the worse for the experience and that I could get that alarm off as soon as possible.

Later as I carried the boxes across, I was so thankful that the deafening noise was no more. For a while there were just the two of us and I started to wonder whether it was worth all the effort, but soon our first visitor arrived and after a while quite a few people burst through the door, to pick up some of the literature which I had chosen for the event.

I learned much from the evening; not least that there are even more fellowships in the area than I had previously realised. In many respects, the Republic of Ireland has changed dramatically since I came to live here in 1985. But perhaps the greatest change of all has been the dramatic increase in all sorts of denominations, other than Roman Catholicism (still in the majority) and the smaller numbers of established Protestant Churches.

Yes, times have changed and I believe that many souls are acknowledging that they have a hunger for something deep and lasting in their lives, in the spiritual sense – which cannot be satisfied by merely being a member of a particular denomination.

As I recall each person who crossed the threshold on Monday night, I realise that each one of these individual’s spiritual needs differ tremendously and that the Lord most certainly has a potential plan and a purpose for each life.

But His plans for our lives can only come to fruition when we give the Saviour complete control of these lives of ours.

As time moves on, I often wonder about the Lord’s return. Will it be soon? One morning not so long ago I wakened with a start, after a strange dream in which I was sure that I had heard the sound of a trumpet and many voices. Yes, the “great and dreadful day of the Lord” is surely coming, in which “the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first: Then we which are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air: and so shall we ever be with the Lord.” (1 Thessalonians 4v16&17)

Earlier I described the unbearable sound of an alarm in my ears… but how much more unbearable, in the spiritual sense, will be the sound of “the trump of God” in the ears of those who are unprepared…

And for those who know Him as Saviour, may the Lord give us the grace in these days to live our lives blamelessly to His glory and in His strength… and may we be willing to let Him to empower and equip us, as He sees best, to reach the lost for His Kingdom.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

