Take My Life and Let it be… Ever Only All for Thee

At this time of year many primary and secondary school students around Ireland and in other parts of the world are about to sit examinations of one kind or another, while others in third level education have just received, or are about to receive, their degree results.

This week we received the wonderful news of my daughter’s first class honours degree results and also the fact that she came first in a class of nearly 40 students. She was naturally overcome with emotion at the results, as I was too. I remembered, with tears in my eyes all those missed days at school when she suffered from arthritis as a child; the nights of pain and the weary mornings when she could hardly walk and I thank the Lord for her present health and abilities.

In recent days for some reason the tune of the hymn “Take my Life” by Frances Ridley Havergal (1836-1879) has been going through my head and I began to read some of the background information on this lady. Perhaps I have been thinking about Frances because of her educational abilities as a child: she could read at two, read the Bible at four and started to write poetry at seven. By the age of twenty she had memorised the four Gospels, all the Epistles, Revelation, the Psalms and the Book of Isaiah. But most importantly, Frances gave her heart to the Lord just after her fourteenth birthday. In her own words… “I did trust the Lord Jesus.”

Then in 1873, a year of great spiritual blessing in her life, Frances consecrated that life to the Lord. In her own words… “I was shown that the blood of Jesus Christ His Son cleanseth us from all sin… it was made plain to me that He who had cleansed me had power to keep me clean; so I just utterly yielded myself to Him and entirely trusted Him to keep me.”

A good education or a special talent in the sphere of music or the arts is something to be thankful for – but all the education and talents in the world without the guiding force of the Lord Jesus Christ in our lives is worse than useless, because education in itself can produce proud people who are full of their own philosophies, making it more difficult for them to hear the Lord’s convicting voice.

Today Frances Ridley Havergal’s hymns live on to inspire and convict thousands of souls across the world, all because she gave every aspect of her life to be used for the glory of her Risen Saviour, in the knowledge that He could keep her clean.

June 3rd last saw the anniversary of Frances Ridley Havergal’s death. In her own words she took…

“The one grand step, beyond the stars to God

Into the splendour, shadowless and broad,

Into the everlasting joy and light.”

 

My prayer is that young people everywhere, whatever their abilities, would find Frances’ loving Saviour who desires to use their lives for His glory, that their moments and their days… would “flow in ceaseless praise!”

Take my life, and let it be

Consecrated, Lord, to Thee;

Take my moments and my days,

Let them flow in ceaseless praise.

 

Take my hands, and let them move

At the impulse of thy love;

Take my feet, and let them be

Swift and beautiful for Thee.

 

Take my voice, and let me sing

Always, only, for my King;

Take my lips, and let them be

Filled with messages from Thee.

 

Take my silver and my gold –

Not a mite would I withhold;

Take my intellect and use

Ev’ry power as thou shalt choose.

 

Take my will, and make it Thine –

It shall be no longer mine:

Take my heart – it is Thine own;

It shall be Thy royal throne.

 

Take my love; my Lord, I pour

At thy feet its treasure-store;

Take myself, and I will be

Ever, only ALL for Thee.

(Frances Ridley Havergal 4th February, 1874)

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Take My Life and Let it be… Ever Only All for Thee”

  1. wunmips91 Says:

    whao, congratulations, n more grace in Jesus name. Our children for signs and wonders.

Leave a Reply

