The 2012 International Eucharistic Congress in Dublin – and the Mass versus the Book of Hebrews

It is eighty years now since the last Eucharistic Congress was held in the city of Dublin and this week I have been reading Roman Catholicism’s statements on the Eucharist, in the light of the book of Hebrews. A Eucharistic Congress I learn… “is an international gathering of people which aims to:

(1) Promote an awareness of the central place of the Eucharist in the life and mission of the Catholic Church.

(2) Help improve our understanding and celebration of the liturgy

(3) Draw attention to the social dimension of the Eucharist.”

What is the ‘Holy Eucharist,’ according to Roman Catholic doctrine? The ‘Holy Eucharist,’ I am told, ‘is a sacrament and a sacrifice.’

I further am informed that… ‘In the Holy Eucharist, under the appearances of bread and wine, the Lord Christ is contained, offered, and received. The whole Christ is really, truly, and substantially present in the Holy Eucharist. The words “really, truly, and substantially” are used to describe Christ’s presence in the Holy Eucharist in order to distinguish Our Lord’s teaching from that of mere men who falsely teach that the Holy Eucharist is only a sign or figure of Christ, or that He is present only by His power.’

Therefore, clearly we understand from Roman Catholic doctrine that ‘the Holy Eucharist’ is a sacrifice. However, when I turn to God’s Word, in the Book of Hebrews, I read these words… “And every priest standeth ministering and offering oftentimes the same sacrifices, which can never take away sins: But this man, after he had offered one sacrifice for sins for ever, sat down at the right hand of God.” (Hebrews  10v11-12)

I love the words of Hebrews 10v17-17-20… “And their sins and iniquities will I remember no more. Now where remission of these is, there is no more offering for sin. Having therefore, brethren, boldness to enter into the holiest by the blood of Jesus. By a new and living way, which he hath consecrated for us, through the veil, that is to say, his flesh…”

If the Eucharist as a sacrifice is a ‘bloodless’ sacrifice, then we learn in Hebrews 9v22, that it is futile as a sacrifice, for… “without shedding of blood is no remission.”

On the other hand, if people believe that it is truly the body and blood of Christ, then they are contravening God’s law, for we read… “And as it is appointed unto men once to die, but after this the judgment: So Christ was once offered to the bear the sins of many; and unto them that look for him shall he appear the second time without sin unto salvation.” (Hebrews 9v27&28)

My prayer is that eyes would be opened by these words…

“For Christ is not entered into the holy places made with hands, which are the figures of the true; but into heaven itself, now to appear in the presence of God for us: Nor yet that he should offer himself often, as the high priest entereth into the holy place every year with blood of others;  For then must he often have suffered since the foundation of the world: but now once in the end of the world hath he appeared to put away sin by the sacrifice of himself.” (Hebrews 9v24-26)

I feel at this point that I should conclude with the words of Jesus Himself, at the last supper… “And he took the cup, and gave thanks, and said, Take this, and divide it among yourselves: For I say unto you, I will not drink of the fruit of the vine, until the kingdom of God shall come. And he took bread, and gave thanks, and brake it, and gave unto them, saying, This is my body which is given for you: this do in remembrance of me. Likewise also the cup after supper, saying, This cup is the new testament in my blood, which is shed for you.” (Luke 22v17-20)

Jesus by His words and actions was instructing His disciples and ultimately, all those who would come to Him in repentance down through the ages, to “do this in remembrance of me.” The bread and wine were figurative of the greater sacrifice of Himself.

Here is a thought… how could His disciples actually eat Jesus’ body and drink His blood, when He was there in Person, with them?

Jesus often spoke figuratively… “I am the door,” (John 10v9) “I am the true vine.” (John 15v1) “I am the vine, ye are the branches…” (John 15v5) “I am that bread of life.” (John 6v35) “Ye are the salt of the earth.” (Matthew 5v13) “Ye are the light of the world.” (Matthew 5v14); “My sheep hear my voice…” (John 10v27)

Prior to last Sunday when I was viewing the special site set up for the purpose of the Eucharistic Congress, I noticed a ‘countdown’ to its commencement. Surely the countdown is getting lower and lower every day, with regard to the return of the Lord Jesus Christ? His last words in the Book of Revelation are: “Surely I come quickly.” (verse 20) I would urge all who read this to seek out the truth in His Word and not to rely on the traditions of men…. “seek, and ye shall find; knock and it shall be opened unto you…” (Matthew 7v7) May the Lord bless His Word to all who read with seeking hearts.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “The 2012 International Eucharistic Congress in Dublin – and the Mass versus the Book of Hebrews”

  1. Cecil Andrews Says:

    Dear Elizabeth,

    I have just read with interest (and approval) this article that was reproduced in the latest issue of Ulster Bulwark. I don’t know if you’re familiar with my own ministry ‘Take Heed’ Ministries (web site http://www.takeheed.net) but just recently our YouTube site has been re-activated on http://www.youtube.com/user/TakeHeedMinistries?feature=mhee and one of the videos posted there is a debate on ‘The Eucharist’ that I organised in May in Dundalk Baptist church between my invited guest from America, Rob Zins (ex catholic) and ‘Father’ Patrick McCafferty. I believe you will find it of interest.

    With all good wishes in Christ

    Cecil Andrews

  2. readywriterpublications Says:

    Dear Cecil,
    Thank you so much for your comment. Yes, I have heard of “Take Heed Ministries” – and now I can go to the site and also view that debate on YouTube – many thanks indeed for all of this interesting information. I’ve been away for a couple of weeks and one of the places that the Lord enabled me to see was the Greek island of Patmos – but here, as elsewhere, false teaching abounds. I was encouraged, however, to meet amongst all the hundreds of tourists, just two Christians from Holland and my husband also had the opportunity to testify of how the Lord had saved him (he is from a R.C. background) to a couple of the Greek Orthodox monks there – many of the ordinary Greek people also accepted our little ‘John 3v16’ gift bookmarks in Greek.
    Thank you again, for the contact. I will pray that, spiritually speaking, eyes will be opened and discernment strengthened through your ministry.
    Sincerely,
    Elizabeth.

    • Cecil Andrews Says:

      Dear Elizabeth,

      How timely your reply – I have just 10 minutes ago said ‘cheerio’ to a young man (schoolteacher) called Martin Molloy – an ‘orthodox’ and ‘devout’ Roman Catholic who drove from Dundalk to meet with me in my home this morning. He attended the debate in Dundalk Baptist and has had some ongoing interaction with the Pastor there, Stephen Murphy, who is ex RC. Now Martin is not seeking for himself but seeking to get us into the Catholic fold and he is well versed in Catholicism – we chatted for well over 3 hours on a range of issues. As our conversation came to a close I offered and after consideration he took some literature from me – he still is fully convinced of the rightness of the RC church and that I and those like me are heretics who are lost. We were politely honest with each other on these matters though without animosity. As best I could I sought to sow the seeds of the truth of God’s Word so if you can pray for him and another young man who was with him at the debate called Charles that would be appreciated. Thank you for all your good wishes and may the Lord bless your recent witnessing for Him on the Greek islands.
      In Christ
      Cecil

  3. readywriterpublications Says:

    Hello Cecil, I will certainly pray for these people you mentioned. Sorry for the delay in my reply – and thank you so much for your comments – may the Lord continue to speak to souls through your ministry.
    Sincerely,
    Elizabeth.

Leave a Reply

