“Cast Thy Burden Upon the Lord…”

painting

Just recently my daughter purchased this lovely old picture with its ornate frame in a charity shop, for the sum of just £5! The scene is evocative of an old rural way of life that was always close to my heart. When she first held her purchase up to me, tears came into my eyes and I was struck by those words and touched by them – because I believe that they were intended especially for me at that very time on that very day. The full verse is: “Cast thy burden upon the Lord, and he shall sustain thee: he shall never suffer the righteous to be moved.” (Psalm 55v22)

Who else can we cast our burdens upon? Yes, we may ask faithful friends and acquaintances to pray for situations in our lives and we may open our hearts to those who are closest to us, but when all is said and done, there is only One on whom we can cast the great burdens of our hearts and the heartaches that would weigh us down: the Person of the Lord Jesus Christ.

David, in the midst of all his battles, wrote this and many other such psalms in anguish, for he had many enemies. In the following Psalm (56), he declares: “Be merciful unto me, O God: for man would swallow me up; he fighting daily oppresseth me. Mine enemies would daily swallow me up: for they be many that fight against me, O thou most High.” (Verses1&2)

Today, if we seek to serve the Lord Jesus Christ, we too will have many enemies. Indeed, the very demons of hell are against us. Yet “What shall we then say to these things? If God be for us, who can be against us?” (Romans 8v31)

Paul said of Satan… “we are not ignorant of his devices.” (2Cor 2v11) He will use all sort of strategies against us but with David we can say: “What time I am afraid, I will trust in thee. In God I will praise his word, in God I have put my trust; I will not fear what flesh can do unto me.” (Psalm 56v3&4)

I feel that this lovely picture should have pride of place in our home, where perhaps it will touch other hearts over the years, whatever their spiritual condition. May the Lord bless it to all who read.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

