Jesus: “My Lord, and my God”

Pictures and videos from android 308

Some days ago, I awoke one morning to read these lovely words for the day: “And without controversy great is the mystery of goodliness: God was manifest in the flesh, justified in the Spirit, seen of angels, preached unto the Gentiles, believed on in the world, received up into glory.” (1Timothy 3v16)

How can anyone deny the deity of the Lord Jesus Christ? And yet we see this beautiful fundamental truth denied by numerous cults and wrongful systems of belief the world over – including Islam.

Jesus said to Thomas: “Reach hither thy finger, and behold my hands; and reach hither thy hand, and thrust it into my side: and be not faithless, but believing. And Thomas answered unto him, My Lord and my God.” Jesus saith unto him, Thomas, because thou hast seen me, thou hast believed: blessed are they that have not seen, and yet have believed.” (John 20v27-29)

Surely, if Jesus had objected to being referred to as “my God”… He would have rebuked Thomas and corrected him?

Throughout the New Testament and indeed in the Old Testament, we can read many verses which proclaim the deity of Jesus and the truth of the Trinity… “For unto us a child is born, unto us a Son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counsellor, The Mighty God, the Everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.” (Isaiah 9v6)

I heard an Islamic scholar say: “Show me one verse in the Bible where Jesus declares Himself to be God and I will become a Christian.” Surely for God to declare that Jesus is God is all sufficient? “But unto the Son he saith, Thy throne, O God, is for ever and ever: a sceptre of righteousness is the sceptre of thy kingdom.” (Hebrews 1v8)

“And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth. John bare witness of him, and cried, saying, This was he of whom I spake, He that cometh after me is preferred before me: for he was before me.” (John 1v14&15)

Now it is known that Jesus was born a little while after John and yet John declares: “he was before me.” Even more amazing are the words of John 8v56-58: “Your father Abraham rejoiced to see my day: and he saw it, and was glad. Then said the Jews unto him, Thou art not yet fifty years old, and hast thou seen Abraham? Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Before Abraham was, I am.

Here I have quoted just a few of the numerous verses (some not usually quoted in this context) which declare the deity of the Lord Jesus Christ and I hope in a future blog to quote many in relation to the Trinity too.

I somehow felt a great peace and joy about recording these marvellous verses in a little decorative notebook which I singled out for the purpose. If some weary Jehovah’s Witness comes to my door (as they do every once in a while) I shall be happy to produce my little notebook with its accumulating verses and above all, my Bible, which is the source of all truth. Unfortunately it would appear that many of the modern translations do not uphold these great fundamentals of Christian faith and the Jehovah’s Witnesses’ New World Translation certainly doesn’t.

However, only the Holy Spirit can open eyes and convict of sin and convince men of the truth contained in His Word. I will reach out prayerfully, with love and in faith, in His strength, being led of His Spirit.

Perhaps it is fitting that I conclude at this point with some of the last words of Jesus, when He prayed to the Father before His crucifixion… “I have glorified thee on the earth: I have finished the work which thou gavest me to do. And now, O Father, glorify thou me with thine own self with the glory which I had with thee before the world was.” (John 17v4&5) May His lovely Name be praised!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

