…”His Compassions Fail Not. They Are New Every Morning…” (Lamentations 3v22)

img-20161112-wa0000

November, I used to think, is a dull, uninspiring month, a month when the final leaves have fallen, the flowers are almost dead or dying… and all the world lies dull and dreary. But there is something very beautiful about November – its sunsets! In a sense the seasons of the year are like the years of a man or woman. Spring is the childhood of our years, summer is still youthful – but with growing maturity; in autumn our hair will change colour (if it’s allowed to!) and we begin to experience some aches and pains, while winter is, to be frank, approaching death. Of course this is in a normal life cycle. Unfortunately not all lives follow this pattern and sometimes life will be snuffed out in youth or even childhood…

Traditionally November has been a month to remember – we remember the fallen of two world wars and other conflicts and often we remember our loved ones more as the festive season swiftly approaches. Those cold dark evenings are certainly a time for reflection and reminiscing.

As I walk in the fading light of the early evening, listening to the blackbirds in the fields behind our home, I glance towards the beauty of another sunset in the west and I thank the Lord that He has given me another day to live for Him. I thank Him for the simple ability to walk, to see… but above all to appreciate all that He has done for me. In the last few years He has been my Rock, through hospital procedures, operations and bereavements. As John Newton writes in the final verses of his hymn “Amazing Grace”….

“Through many dangers, toils and snares,

I have already come;

‘Tis grace has brought me safe thus far,

And grace will lead me home.

The Lord has promised good to me,

His Word my hope secures;

He will my Shield and Portion be,

As long as life endures.

Yea, when this flesh and heart shall fail,

And mortal life shall cease,

I shall possess, within the veil,

A life of joy and peace.

The earth shall soon dissolve like snow,

The sun forbear to shine;

But God, who called me here below,

Will be forever mine.

When we’ve been there ten thousand years,

Bright shining as the sun,

We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise

Than when we’d first begun.”

This is surely the Lord’s promise to all who trust in Him alone for salvation and who walk with Him towards the sunset of their lives. “O give thanks unto the Lord; for he is good; for his mercy endureth forever.” (Psalm 136v1)

In this Psalm there are 26 verses – and each verse ends with “for His mercy endureth for ever!” If you have not already done so – trust Him for His mercy now, while it is day, before that night comes when your soul will be lost forever.

As I view another setting sun (or even just the darkness fall) I thank Him for the beauty of His creation, in the wonderful knowledge that each new sunrise is another gift from Him – and each sunset is another one closer to Home…

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

