Beyond the Night

img_7436

Recently I discovered this poem which I had written when much younger. Tonight (the night before New Year’s ‘Eve) I just happen to be sitting alone – but certainly not ‘forlorn’! However, I can recall the night on which I wrote these words (which are based on the portions of scripture shown) and I can still remember very well how I felt at the time. Praise God, like the Psalms, the Christian’s poetry may sometimes start on a downcast mode but it will conclude on a note of victory and confidence – ultimately in the Person of our Redeemer; our Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ. Our brief lives are indeed as “a shadow that passeth away” (Psalm 144v4) but we are promised that “they that be wise shall shine as the brightness of the firmament; and they that turn many to righteousness as the stars for ever and ever.” (Daniel 12v3)

Beyond The Night

(Psalm 90v9; Psalm 144v4; Daniel 12v3)

The old year dies, the new is born,

As I sit alone on this night, forlorn.

My eyes look up from the words of old:

“We spend our years as a tale that is told,

Man is like to vanity, his day

As a shadow that passeth away.”

Beyond my shadow at the window pane,

A tender snowflake dies to rain,

While a golden ember upon the grate,

Falls and dulls to darkest slate.

I recall the beauty of evening sun

Splash blood-red on the bleak horizon,

But always the darkness would spread,

And glowing embers are too soon dead.

But I look above, and beyond the night,

And see at last that wondrous sight,

For the gentle moon is surely there,

Bearing light to the darkest lair.

The fields lie quietly now, and all my house asleep,

But I know, oh how I know that a billion tiny jewels

Lie beyond the darkness deep,

And far far away lies precious perfect light

Triumphant on the darkest night.

Oh let us ne’er be held in bond

By clouds of darkest night,

But let us look above and beyond –

To the Son, our Redeemer and Light.

For was it not this King of Love

Who cast the stars in space?

And did He not die and rise above

For all of Adam’s fallen race?

For moon and stars will fail some night,

And all this world be gone,

But we shall shine as the stars forever,

If we love Him at the Dawn.

©Elizabeth Burke

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

